Friday, June 30, 2017

A Convenient Risk by Sara R. Turnquist

When her husband dies, Amanda is left alone with no way to survive.  She can't get a job because she's female and has a son to raise.  Her neighbor is fighting to save his ranch.  He decides to ask her to marry him so he can acquire the cows she owned.  It's to be a marriage of convenience only.  She says yes.

Goddess Fish Promotions and the author allowed me to read this book for review (thank you).  You can buy a copy now.

As Amanda settles into the household, she meets Cook and Uncle Owen and the rest of Brandon's crew.  She enjoys the company but she feels useless.  No one gives her anything to do.  She's spent her married life being part of the ranch and resents not being allowed to do anything.  Brandon doesn't want her to feel she has to and stops her.

A lot of time is spent examining the characteristics of the husband and wife.  They both have had some problems in the past and it influences their action now.  As they work through their differences, Brandon asks his wife to hold onto God for support.  She tells him that God wasn't there for her before and she doesn't believe in Him.  Before the end of the story, she will.  

The ranch gets robbed, Amanda's son Samuel breaks his leg, Amanda almost gets killed by a bull, and Brandon is still trying to keep his ranch.  There's lots of action and at the end, there's lots of love.  The Christian factor isn't overwhelming and it has a good ending.  Sometimes it's harder to win a heart than you think it might be...

One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.  Enter HERE.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances\ of winning. The tour dates can be found HERE.  

Happy reading and good luck! 

15 comments:

Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thanks for hosting!

Lisa Brown said...

Congrats on the tour and thanks for the chance to win :)

Sara Turnquist said...

Thanks for hosting me and for the review!

Victoria Alexander said...

Thanks for sharing the great post and have a great weekend :)

Anonymous said...

I appreciate the review!

--Trix

Mai T. said...

What is the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Sara Turnquist said...

Thanks, all, for visiting and for your comments!

Sara Turnquist said...

Mai T., the most difficult part of the artistic process for me is actually putting the book out there for the world to see it. It is exciting and scary. Will people get it? Will they get me? Will they see the questions I was addressing? Do they get my art? Sometimes the answer is "yes", sometimes, unfortunately, it is "no". So, that part of the process can be disappointing. It is a piece of me I'm putting out there to be judged by others. And that is very intimidating.

Nikolina said...

Shared on G+ to help spread the word, have a great day! :)

Joseph Wallace said...

Who was you favorite author growing up? Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

Sara Turnquist said...

When I was growing up, I enjoyed mysteries and science fiction. I liked Nancy Drew when I was younger, but became a Mary Higgins Clark fan pretty quickly. Further on, I fell in love with Historical Fiction/clean Historical Romance in the vein of Francine Rivers and Janette Oake. Then, I fell in love with Michelle Moran's work as well as Tamara Leigh and Melanie Dickerson.

Joseph Wallace said...

Have you heard any good jokes recently? Thanks for hosting the giveaway. Bernie W BWallace1980(at)hotmail(d0t)com

Sara Turnquist said...

So...I went for a walk in the woods one day. And happened upon a skull. Imagine that...a skull...right there in the middle of the forest! Well, I gathered my wits, pulled out my cell phone, and called the police. They asked me to remain where I was and they would be on their way. So, I sat there and, being the writer that I am, thought about this person and his/her life. Who were they? How did they end up here? What had happened? Why did they have antlers?

DanieX said...

Beautiful cover!

Ally Swanson said...

Hope you had a fabulous weekend! Looking forward to checking out this book!