Tuesday, June 10, 2014

The Overending by Rick Johnson

It all begins with an escape from the castle by two fugitives.  Emil is a member of the Wood Cows family and PorNart is member of the Coyote family.  Both are tough, but PorNart is pretty up and worn at this point of the journey.  Still they have escaped.  Now to recover and move on...

Goddess Fish Blog and the author shared a copy of this book with me for review (thank you).  This is the second in this series and can be found wherever you buy ebooks.  

The Wood Cow Chronicles is very different book from the normal run-of-the-mill stories.  Mr. Johnson has created a unique world with all sorts of different animal characters, many of which have strange names.  The first book featured Helga, Emil's sister.  I'd suggest you begin with Volume 1.  I began with Volume 2 and it took a bit to pick up all pieces and get going with the story.

This story moves well.  There is danger everywhere.  The woods aren't safe, people are being turned into slaves, the king is evil, and everyone in the kingdom is threatened.  However, there are folks helping save the slaves.

During the course of this story, more people are drawn into the "free the slaves" movement and the king's power begins to lose strength.  The counter movement has begun and it will continue to work against the king in the next volume of this story.

What especially tickled me about this story were the characters.  There all all types of animals, all kinds of skills and bits of special knowledge from each them depending on how they spent their lives and where they lived.  It gives you hope that they will succeed in their quest.  We'll have to read the next volume to find out...

Rick will be awarding a $50 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: Tour Dates

Best of luck to you!


Mary Preston said...

The characters do sound fascinating.


Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thanks for hosting!

MomJane said...

This sounds like a fun and fascinating story. How many books in the series?

Rick Johnson said...

Thanks to The Book Faerie for hosting my tour and reviewing The Overending.

Readers can find all my contact info and the places my books are available over on my Wattpad page: http://t.co/dhhCMaiFgH. There is also a Sneak Peek chapter from Volume #3 of the Wood Cow Chronicles posted there.

Thanks again for hosting and 'Hello' to all the commenters!

Rita said...

Sounds like a great read.


Rick Johnson said...

Thanks Rita, MomJane, and Mary for stopping by! Glad to connect. Regarding MomJane's question, there will be six books in the initial series, with those six forming the first cycle of the Wood Cow Chronicles. More will follow.

Alexis N said...

I think I'll enjoy this book. Thank you brown_angel123at) yahoo)dotcom

bn100 said...

Interesting characters

bn100candg at hotmail dot com

Anonymous said...

Thanks so much for the review!

vitajex@aol dot com

amy bowens said...

Love the sound of this book! Lots of things happening and the characters sound amazing! Thanks for sharing and good luck with the book tour!

Tallulah A. Scribbles said...

Wow. A six book series. How exciting! Now that I have read book two, I am going to go back and read Helga: Out of Hedgelands (book 1).

I enjoyed the sneak peak of book 3 over at Wattpad. Thanks for sharing.

I voted for The Overending on the following Goodreads Listopia list:

Middle Grade Novels of 2014

Alexis N said...

What inspired the books in this series? Enjoyed the excerpt, I think I'll enjoy this book. Thank you brown_angel 123at) yahoo`dotcom